The DUI and drunk driving laws in Michigan make it illegal to drive with .08 percentage blood alcohol concentration (BAC) or above. While the best solution is not to drink and drive, if you are caught driving you will need an experienced DUI attorney who will fight to protect your rights. Michigan’s laws for drunk driving and DUI are strict — and when you drink and drive in Michigan, you risk your freedom, your finances and your future!
If you have been arrested for a DUI, our expert drunk driving attorney will offer you honesty, integrity and the experience you need when defending you in your Michigan DUI case. The DUI attorneys at Silverthorn Hutchcroft & Associates will defend and protect your rights — and our courtroom experience will make the difference in your DUI case!
Time is vital when dealing with a DUI related offense. Hiring an experienced Michigan DUI attorney quickly will help ensure that your rights are protected. DUI or driving under the influence can either refer to driving under the influence of alcohol, driving under the influence of drugs or driving under the influence of a combination of liquor and drugs. This is the most widely used term for drunk driving cases. DUI or driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs does not only pertain to cars or trucks. You can also be charged with a DUI offense for operating a boat, motorcycle, snowmobile, moped, scooter or bicycle.
In 2009, Governor Jennifer Granholm signed two public acts which later became known as Michigan's super drunk laws — adding a new definition of drunk driving. As of 2010, drivers with a BAC of 0.17 or more grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of blood, per 210 liters of breath or per 67 milliliters of urine, are now charged for a more serious crime.
If convicted under this new law, drivers now face license sanctions, higher fines and costs and are required to undergo one year of alcohol rehabilitation. Individuals charged with high BAC or repeat offenders face one year or alcohol rehabilitation and have their driver's license suspended for one year. The first 45 days of the suspension forbids driving at all. For the remaining 320 days, the driver is entitled to restricted driving privileges, but only if the offender pays to have a breath alcohol ignition device placed in their car during this period. A youthful drunk driving incident and an OWI 20 plus years later, is counted as a second offense and qualifies you for the year of alcohol rehabilitation and a suspended license.
Now more than ever it is important to have an experienced dui attorney to help you successfully navigate the courts and the secretary of state. Our firm has 30 years of experience with the courts and the state in these matters and our expert drunk driving and DUI lawyers have helped numerous clients regain their lost licenses.
For more information about the drunk driving attorneys at Silverthorn, Hutchcroft & Associates, serving greater Lansing and Howell, or to schedule your free phone consultation, contact us today or call one of our convenient locations at 517.349.8259 in Lansing or 517.548.6767 in Howell.